Track Listing

  1. Straw to Gold
  2. Out of This World
  3. The Saw and the Tree
  4. Slow Mystery
  5. Rear View Mirror
  6. Only a Dream
  7. Fall from Grace
  8. Invisible
  9. Snowbound
  10. Great Return
  11. Imaginary Kingdom
  12. Forever Thursday
  13. More Fool Me
  14. False Hope (iTunes bonus track)


The Conversation is the eighth solo album by New Zealand singer/songwriter Tim Finn. It was recorded in April and May 2008, and released in New Zealand on 24 November that year.

The album features collaborations with former Split Enz members Eddie Rayner and Miles Golding, along with Tim’s guitarist Brett Adams. The album’s working title was Echo Chamber. The album is produced by Ethan Allen, known for his work with famed producer Daniel Lanois.

Capitol/EMI released a run of The Conversation CDs with a back cover that incorrectly notes the copyright year as 2006. The album was recorded and released in 2008.

The track “More Fool Me” quotes from the early Split Enz song “Matinee Idyll (129)”, and the song “Imaginary Kingdom” shares its name with Finn’s previous solo album.